Other:
•About BankruptcyHelp
•Links
•Contact us
•Debt Glossary
•Insolvency jobs

FORUM
  > Browse and post on our forum
Home   |   Profile   |   Register   |   Active Topics   |   Members   |   Search   |   FAQ

Welcome to our Forum, please register if you want to post

All Forums
 archive
 Forum Questions
 Hi I have been gambling for about 3 yrs

Note: You must be registered in order to post a reply.
To register, click here. Registration is FREE!

Screensize:
UserName:
Password:
Format Mode:
Format: BoldItalicizedUnderlineStrikethrough Align LeftCenteredAlign Right Horizontal Rule Insert HyperlinkInsert EmailInsert Image Insert CodeInsert QuoteInsert List

* HTML is OFF
* Forum Code is ON
Smilies
Smile [:)] Big Smile [:D] Cool [8D] Blush [:I]
Tongue [:P] Evil [):] Wink [;)] Clown [:o)]
Black Eye [B)] Eight Ball [8] Frown [:(] Shy [8)]
Shocked [:0] Angry [:(!] Dead [xx(] Sleepy [|)]
Kisses [:X] Approve [^] Disapprove [V] Question [?]

Check here to subscribe to this topic.

T O P I C    R E V I E W
paulsc Posted - 27 March 2009 : 07:11:49
Hi I have been gambling for about 3 yrs though my gambling hasnt increase my debt i have gambled about £1700 i think if i get a BRO how does that effect me please
15   L A T E S T    R E P L I E S    (Newest First)
John Posted - 29 March 2009 : 10:47:49
Hi

Insolvency by definition determines whether or not your BR petition should be accepted. Strangely half the country are insolvent but many of course choose not to petition as they have more than sufficient income to meet all repayments. But an ability to pay does not alter the fact when our debts outweigh our assets we are insolvent.

So with £15K of debt and no assets we are insolvent even if you are earning a six figure salary.
Salaries of course, and in particular in the present climate, are far from guaranteed so potential future earnings should not be considered an asset.

I'd be surprised if a debtor's petition were allowed in the above scenario though.