Other:
•About BankruptcyHelp
•Links
•Contact us
•Debt Glossary
•Insolvency jobs

FORUM
  > Browse and post on our forum
Home   |   Profile   |   Register   |   Active Topics   |   Members   |   Search   |   FAQ

Welcome to our Forum, please register if you want to post
Ask a debt question
See the last 250 posts
Watch video on how to use forum
Username:
Password:

Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 New Questions
 Forum Questions
 Leaving the UK
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

sandman6
Starting Member

5 Posts

Posted - 29 April 2009 :  14:56:44  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi, newbie here asking for some advice.

I have approx £45K of debts, owing to credit card companies and loans. I've been living abroad for most of the past 10 years and don't pay tax in the UK.
I'm married to a non-EU foreign national who doesn't like the UK and wants us to move abroad permanently.
Neither of us has any property or assets worth more than a few hundred pounds in the UK.

My question is: What is likely to happen if I just pack my bags and leave the UK for good?

Thanks

paulsc

289 Posts

Posted - 29 April 2009 :  15:06:12  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
probably get a sun tan. legally i dont know but if you have no contact for 6yrs then debts are written off inless they issue a ccj

Go to Top of Page

gettingoutofdebt
forum expert

2418 Posts

Posted - 29 April 2009 :  15:47:47  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Depending upon where you move to the creditors will catch up to you sooner or later so I would recommend sorting the issue out before you leave permanently.

Having said that if you haven't been resident in the UK within the last 3 years then you may not be able to petition for BR in the UK anyway. You should contact Paul at Reviva UK (http://www.revivauk.com) as they have a lot of experience regarding people declaring BR in the UK when living abroad.
Go to Top of Page

sandman6
Starting Member

5 Posts