Other:
•About BankruptcyHelp
•Links
•Contact us
•Debt Glossary
•Insolvency jobs

FORUM
  > Browse and post on our forum
Home   |   Profile   |   Register   |   Active Topics   |   Members   |   Search   |   FAQ

Welcome to our Forum, please register if you want to post
Ask a debt question
See the last 250 posts
Watch video on how to use forum
Username:
Password:

Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 New Questions
 Forum Questions
 engagement & wedding rings and bankruptcy - help
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

ProudMary
Starting Member

7 Posts

Posted - 31 July 2012 :  00:00:50  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi all,
I am a newbie and long time lurker desperate for some advice.
We are just about to complete forms to declare ourselves bankrupt but I have a question to ask about my engagement ring/our wedding rings.

My engagement ring was purchased for £775, 6 years ago.
4 years ago, I had the diamond removed from the yellow gold setting and set in a platinum setting at a cost of around £500. I have never officially had my ring valued but when leaving the jewellers who re-set my ring, I asked for an estimated verbal value and they told me £4500. I (probably foolishly) used this figure to inform my home insurance of any valuable items I have.
So, on my insurance policy it lists £5200 for 'engagement and wedding rings'

There is no official valuation of my ring and now, on the verge of bankruptcy and penniless, I cannot afford to have a valuation carried out.

Do I need to declare this on the SOA as an asset? My head says yes due to the potential value but my heart and emotions are screaming NO. This is my engagement ring and hold massive sentimental value.

Any advice??

year 2029
Average Member

590 Posts

Posted - 31 July 2012 :  00:34:46  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi ProudMary and welcome.

A couple of questions, are you both going bankrupt?